Penn State Mark

Fall 2017 Academic Calendar

Import Calendar

Key Dates and Deadlines for the Fall 2017 Semester
Description Day Date
Intent to Graduate - Activation Period Monday - Tuesday August 14 - September 5
Leave of Absence - Deadline Friday August 18
1 3Arrival Day - New Students Friday - Saturday August 18 - 19
1 3Arrival Day - Returning Students Saturday - Sunday August 19 - 20
Student Registration - Deadline Sunday August 20
Classes Begin Monday August 21
2Regular Drop - Deadline Saturday August 26 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
2Regular Add - Deadline Sunday August 27 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
2Late Drop Begins Sunday August 27
2Late Registration Begins Monday August 28
Labor Day Holiday - No Classes Monday September 4
Final Exam Conflict - Filing Period Monday - Sunday September 25 - October 15
2Late Drop - Deadline Friday November 10 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
Declare Minor - Deadline (Graduating Students) Friday November 10
Thanksgiving Holiday - No Classes Sunday - Saturday November 19 - 25
Withdrawal - Deadline Friday December 8 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
Classes End Friday December 8
3Study Days Saturday - Sunday December 9 - 10
3Final Exams Monday - Friday December 11 - 15
3Commencement Saturday December 16

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses.
3These dates may vary among campuses.