Penn State Mark

Spring 2013 Academic Calendar

Key Dates and Deadlines for the Spring 2013 Semester
Description Day Date
Intent to Graduate - Activation Period Wednesday - Monday January 2 - 21
Leave of Absence - Deadline Friday January 4
1 3Arrival Day - New Students Saturday January 5
Student Registration - Deadline Sunday January 6
Classes Begin Monday January 7
2Regular Drop - Deadline Wednesday January 16
2Regular Add - Deadline Thursday 8:00 a.m. (ET) January 17
2Late Drop Begins Thursday January 17
2Late Registration Begins Friday January 18
Martin Luther King Day - No Classes Monday January 21
Final Exam Conflict - Filing Period Monday - Sunday February 11 - March 3
Spring Break - No Classes Sunday - Saturday March 3 - 9
2Late Drop - Deadline Friday April 5
Declare Minor - Deadline (Graduating Students) Friday April 5
Withdrawal - Deadline Friday April 26
Classes End Friday April 26
3Study Days Saturday - Sunday April 27 - 28
3Final Exams Monday - Friday April 29 - May 3
3Commencement Friday - Sunday May 3 - 5

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses. Refer to the eLion "Course Drop Dates" application for further information. Starting with the first day of the class, a tuition penalty may be charged if the course is dropped.
3These dates may vary among campuses.