Penn State Mark

Summer 2021 Academic Calendar (University Park)

Key Dates and Deadlines for the Summer 2021 Semester
Description Maymester 1st Six-Week Session 2nd Six-Week Session
1Arrival Day - New Students Sun, May 9 Sun, May 16 Sun, June 27
Registration - Deadline Sun, May 9 Sun, May 16 Tues, June 29
Intent to Graduate - Activation Period Mon - Fri, May 10 - June 18 Mon - Fri, May 10 - June 18 Mon - Fri, May 10 - June 18
Classes Begin Mon, May 10 Mon, May 17 Wed, June 30
2Regular Drop - Deadline Tues, May 11 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Tues, May 18 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Thurs, July 1 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
2Regular Add - Deadline Wed, May 12 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Wed, May 19 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Fri, July 2 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
2Late Drop Begins Wed, May 12 Wed, May 19 Fri, July 2
2Late Registration Begins Thurs, May 13 Thurs, May 20 Sat, July 3
Memorial Day Holiday - No Classes Mon, May 31 Mon, May 31 -------
Independence Holiday - No Classes ------- ------- Mon, July 5
2Late Drop - Deadline Tues, June 1 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Thurs, June 17 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) Tues, August 3 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
Declare Minor - Deadline (Graduating Students) ------- ------- Tues, August 3
Withdrawal - Deadline Mon, June 7 at 5:00 p.m. (ET) Fri, June 25 at 5:00 p.m. (ET) Wed, August 11 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
Classes End Mon, June 7 Fri, June 25 Wed, August 11
Study Days Tues, June 8 Sat - Sun, June 26 - 27 Thurs, August 12
Final Exams Wed, June 9 Mon, June 28 Fri, August 13
Commencement Sat, August 14 Sat, August 14 Sat, August 14

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses.