CORONAVIRUS UPDATES: Keep up with the latest updates from Penn State about the global coronavirus outbreak.

 

2024-2025 Academic Calendar

The academic calendar is subject to change without notice. In preparing the calendar for an academic year, it is impossible to avoid conflict with some religious holidays. As conflicts arise, efforts are made to make special arrangements for students affected.

Fall 2024

  • Intent to Graduate - Activation Period

    Monday, August 12 - Tuesday, September 10

  • Leave of Absence - Deadline

    Friday, August 23

  • Arrival Day - New Students 1,3

    TBD

  • Arrival Day - Returning Students 1,3

    TBD

  • Registration - Deadline

    Sunday, August 25

  • Classes Begin

    Monday, August 26

  • Regular Drop - Deadline 2

    Saturday, August 31 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Regular Add - Deadline 2

    Sunday, September 1 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Late Drop Begins 2

    Sunday, September 1

  • Late Registration Begins 2

    Monday, September 2

  • Labor Day - No Classes

    Monday, September 2

  • Final Exam Conflict - Filing Period

    Monday, September 30 - Sunday, October 20

  • Late Drop - Deadline 2

    Friday, November 15 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates - Deadline (Graduating Students)

    Friday, November 15

  • Thanksgiving Holiday - No Classes

    Sunday, November 24 - Saturday, November 30

  • Withdrawal - Deadline

    Friday, December 13 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)

  • Classes End

    Friday, December 13

  • Study Days

    Saturday, December 14 - Sunday, December 15

  • Final Exams

    Monday, December 16 - Friday, December 20

  • Commencement 3

    Saturday, December 21

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses.
3These dates may vary among campuses.

Spring 2025

  • Intent to Graduate - Activation Period

    Thursday, January 2 - Monday, January 27

  • Leave of Absence - Deadline

    Friday, January 10

  • Arrival Day - New Students 1,3

    TBD

  • Registration - Deadline

    Sunday, January 12

  • Classes Begin

    Monday, January 13

  • Regular Drop - Deadline 2

    Saturday, January 18 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Regular Add - Deadline 2

    Sunday, January 19 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Late Drop Begins 2

    Sunday, January 19

  • Late Registration Begins 2

    Monday, January 20

  • Martin Luther King Day - No Classes

    Monday, January 20

  • Final Exam Conflict - Filing Period

    Monday, February 17 - Sunday, March 9

  • Spring Break - No Classes

    Sunday, March 9 - Saturday, March 15

  • Late Drop - Deadline 2

    Friday, April 11 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates - Deadline (Graduating Students)

    Friday, April 11

  • Withdrawal - Deadline

    Friday, May 2 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)

  • Classes End

    Friday, May 2

  • Study Days

    Saturday, May 3 - Sunday, May 4

  • Final Exams

    Monday, May 5 - Friday, May 9

  • Commencement 3

    Friday, May 9 - Sunday, May 11

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.
2These dates apply to full semester courses.
3These dates may vary among campuses.

Summer 2025

  • Arrival Day - New Students 1

    TBD

  • Registration - Deadline

    Sunday, May 11

  • Intent to Graduate - Activation Period

    Monday, May 12 - Friday, June 20

  • Classes Begin

    Monday, May 12

  • Regular Drop - Deadline

    Tuesday, May 13 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Regular Add - Deadline

    Wednesday, May 14 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Late Drop Begins

    Wednesday, May 14

  • Late Registration Begins

    Thursday, May 15

  • Memorial Day Holiday - No Classes

    Monday, May 26

  • Late Drop - Deadline

    Tuesday, June 3 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Withdrawal - Deadline

    Monday, June 9 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)

  • Classes End

    Monday, June 9

  • Study Days

    Tuesday, June 10

  • Final Exams

    Wednesday, June 11

  • Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates - Deadline (Graduating Students)

    Monday, August 4

  • Commencement

    Saturday, August 16

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.

  • Arrival Day - New Students 1

    TBD

  • Registration - Deadline

    Sunday, May 18

  • Intent to Graduate - Activation Period

    Monday, May 12 - Friday, June 20

  • Classes Begin

    Monday, May 19

  • Regular Drop - Deadline

    Wednesday, May 21 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Regular Add - Deadline

    Thursday, May 22 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Late Drop Begins

    Thursday, May 22

  • Late Registration Begins

    Friday, May 23

  • Memorial Day Holiday - No Classes

    Monday, May 26

  • Late Drop - Deadline

    Thursday, June 19 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Withdrawal - Deadline

    Friday, June 27 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)

  • Classes End

    Friday, June 27

  • Study Days

    Saturday, June 28 - Sunday, June 29

  • Final Exams

    Monday, June 30

  • Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates - Deadline (Graduating Students)

    Monday, August 4

  • Commencement

    Saturday, August 16

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.

  • Arrival Day - New Students 1

    TBD

  • Registration - Deadline

    Tuesday, July 1

  • Intent to Graduate - Activation Period

    Monday, May 12 - Friday, June 20

  • Classes Begin

    Wednesday, July 2

  • Independence Day Holiday - No Classes

    Friday, July 4

  • Regular Drop - Deadline

    Friday, July 4 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Regular Add - Deadline

    Saturday, July 5 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Late Drop Begins

    Saturday, July 5

  • Late Registration Begins

    Sunday, July 6

  • Late Drop - Deadline

    Monday, August 4 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)

  • Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates - Deadline (Graduating Students)

    Monday, August 4

  • Withdrawal - Deadline

    Wednesday, August 13 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)

  • Classes End

    Wednesday, August 13

  • Study Days

    Thursday, August 14

  • Final Exams

    Friday, August 15

  • Commencement

    Saturday, August 16

Calendar Footnotes

1New international students will arrive several days prior to this date.